The Three Cities


Birgu, Bormla and Isla, commonly known as the Three cities, were renamed to Vittoriosa, Cospicua and Senglea respectively by the Knights of St. John following the against-all-odds success in repelling the Ottoman Empire during the Great Siege of 1565. They are situated on the other side of the Grand Harbour from Valletta. The Three Cities actually predate the Maltese capital and were the first home of the Knights. This historical area has been left rather unexplored by tourists and they have largely retained their past architectural glory (even though very heavily hit during World War II). Holy days and feast days are celebrated here like nowhere else on the island and are a unique sight especially in Easter processions when devotees carrying large statues of the ‘Risen Christ’ run through crowd filled streets.


Click on the links below for more information, photos and virtual tours:


- Birgu (Vittoriosa)

- Bormla (Cospicua)

- Isla (Senglea)